Home About Us Overview

The Department of Labour was started under the Indian Immigrant Labour Ordinance No. 01 of 1923, with the objective of providing welfare for migrant Indian estate Labourers. With the gradual realization of the Importance of the Local Labour Force, activities pertaining to the security and welfare of Labour Force were entrusted on a Labour Controller. Later, the Post of Labour Controller was changed in to the Commissioner of Labour, and in 1994, the Post of Commissioner General of Labour was created with comprehensive powers. The legislature has taken steps to pass about 50 basic legislations during the past 94 year period towards the welfare and protection of the Labour Force. The fundamental function of the Department of Labour is to implement these legislations. For this purpose, these functions are implemented Under 13 Principel Divisions of the Department, and in addition to that, 11 Zonal Labour Offices,  40 District Labour Offices, 17 Sub-Labour offices and 10 District Factory Inspecting Engineer's Offices are functioning.


A country with everlasting industrial peace for an internationally competitive economy.


Contribute to the development process of Sri Lanka through establishment of a decent work environment within secured industrial peace.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 05 April 2017 04:42
Labour Department Labour Department Labour Department


News and Events

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
New Publications Following publications of the Labour Department are now available at the Library(Ground Floor) in Department of Labour, Colombo 05. Read more
Right to Information Act, No. 12 of 2016 Sri Lanka’s Right to Information (RTI) Act comes into effect by bringing with it a promise of open government, citizens’ active participation ... Read more
Open Competitive Examination for the recruitment to the Post of Stenographer(Grade III) in the Department of Labour - 2017 Applicants are invited from qualified Sri Lankan Citizens in... Read more
Department of Labour First and Second Efficiency Bar Examination for the Executive Service Category (Departmental) - 2017 It has been planned to be held First Efficiency Bar Examinati... Read more
Island wide Establishment Level Competition On Social Dialogue and Workplace Cooperation – 2017 Evaluation Criteria 1)     Social Dialogue Practices 1.1        Collective agre... Read more